West Monroe vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
West Monroe (4.2/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. West Monroe is the better choice for US mid-market firms tying AI to operations. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.
West Monroe vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | West Monroe | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2002 | 2010 |
| HQ | Chicago, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 2,250 | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.2 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Operations-first AI strategy from a partly employee-owned consultancy | The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Consulting fees per engagement; rates not published | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | Azure, AWS, Salesforce | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Utilities & energy, Financial services, Healthcare, Private equity, Consumer & retail, Technology | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
West Monroe vs RTS Labs: overview
West Monroe
West Monroe was founded in Chicago in 2002 and has about 2,250 people in nine US offices, plus London and San José, Costa Rica. Part of the firm is owned by its employees; a 2023 interview put that share at 50%. It hired a chief AI officer in September 2025 and in June 2026 launched WestMonroe.ai, a platform of on-demand AI agents. Its AI strategy work begins with operations. When a utility, bank, or health system wants to know where AI changes how the business actually runs, before anyone picks a model, this is the kind of firm that answers well.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.
Services and capabilities: West Monroe vs RTS Labs
| Capability | West Monroe | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✓ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✓ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✗ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✓ |
| Audit of live AI programs | ✗ | ✗ |
| Change management | ✓ | ✗ |
| Can build what it recommends | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: West Monroe vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | West Monroe | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | N/A | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Snowflake | ✓ | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: West Monroe vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | West Monroe | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Strategy & roadmap engagement, Readiness assessment, Delivery team | Readiness assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: West Monroe vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | West Monroe | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Mid-market to enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Utilities & energy, Financial services, Healthcare | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Finding AI use cases in a utility's field and customer operations., AI value plans for private equity portfolio companies. | Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. |
| Typical project type | Strategy & roadmap engagement | Readiness assessment |
West Monroe vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| West Monroe | |
|---|---|
| + | Plans AI around operations and process change, which keeps use cases tied to real work |
| + | Has a private equity practice that writes AI plans for portfolio companies |
| + | Sized between the boutiques and the global integrators, which suits US mid-market budgets |
| + | Its own agent platform (WestMonroe.ai) gives clients a quick way to try ideas |
| - | Mostly US-based, so European regulatory work such as the EU AI Act is a thinner practice |
| - | Its AI platform only launched in June 2026 and has little track record yet |
| - | Rates and minimums are not published |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here |
| + | Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment |
| + | Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| - | Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope |
| - | US-only team with no European regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch |
Who should choose West Monroe?
A typical fit: finding AI use cases in a utility's field and customer operations.
Operations-first AI strategy from a partly employee-owned consultancy. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Utilities & energy, Financial services, Healthcare, Private equity, Consumer & retail, Technology.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.
The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: West Monroe vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter | Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap |
| You already run AI that is missing its targets | Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review |
| Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed | Neither lists governance work; add a specialist |
| AI will change roles and processes for many staff | West Monroe |
| You want the strategy firm to build the result too | Both can deliver after the strategy |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: West Monroe (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team across many countries | West Monroe |
Use case fit: West Monroe vs RTS Labs
| Use case | West Monroe fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Finding AI use cases in a utility's field and customer operations. | Strong | Limited | West Monroe |
| AI value plans for private equity portfolio companies. | Strong | Limited | West Monroe |
| Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: West Monroe vs RTS Labs
West Monroe (4.2/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Operations-first AI strategy from a partly employee-owned consultancy.
RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
West Monroe vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is West Monroe better than RTS Labs?
West Monroe (4.2/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. West Monroe's strongest advantage: plans AI around operations and process change, which keeps use cases tied to real work. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.
How do West Monroe and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
West Monroe's pricing: consulting fees per engagement; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: West Monroe or RTS Labs?
West Monroe is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between West Monroe and RTS Labs?
West Monroe's primary differentiator is: operations-first AI strategy from a partly employee-owned consultancy. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (2,250 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Utilities & energy, Financial services vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.