Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Thoughtworks (4.1/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. Thoughtworks is the better choice for engineering-led companies modernizing software with AI. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1993 | 2010 |
| HQ | Chicago, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 10,000 | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.1 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Engineering-practice depth applied to AI strategy, with its tool opinions published in the Technology Radar | The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Time & materials and fixed-scope work; rates not published | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | AWS, Azure, Google Cloud | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector, Technology, Energy | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: overview
Thoughtworks
Thoughtworks was founded in Chicago in 1993 and has roughly 10,000 staff. Apax Partners took it private in a deal announced in August 2024 that valued the company at about $1.75 billion. Its AI work grows out of software and data engineering, so strategy engagements focus on where AI changes how software is built and how data products are run. In March 2026 it launched an AI joint venture with Teneo, a New York advisory firm, to add a stronger business-advisory side. Its public Technology Radar, a twice-yearly review of tools and techniques, is a free way to judge how it thinks before you hire it.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.
Services and capabilities: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Capability | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✗ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✗ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✗ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✓ | ✓ |
| Audit of live AI programs | ✗ | ✗ |
| Change management | ✗ | ✗ |
| Can build what it recommends | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | N/A | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | ✓ | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Snowflake | ✓ | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Strategy & roadmap engagement, Delivery team | Readiness assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Retail, Healthcare | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Planning how AI changes a company's software delivery process., Data strategy for organizations whose data is the main obstacle to AI. | Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. |
| Typical project type | Strategy & roadmap engagement | Readiness assessment |
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| Thoughtworks | |
|---|---|
| + | Engineering standards are high, and its views on tools are public in the Technology Radar |
| + | Good at AI for software delivery itself, such as coding assistants and test automation |
| + | Data mesh and data product thinking help when the data foundation is the real blocker |
| + | Gives honest build-or-buy calls on tooling |
| - | Taken private by Apax in 2024, so expect cost pressure and leadership changes |
| - | Board-level business strategy is lighter than its engineering work, which the Teneo venture is meant to fix |
| - | Rates and minimums are not published |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here |
| + | Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment |
| + | Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| - | Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope |
| - | US-only team with no European regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch |
Who should choose Thoughtworks?
A typical fit: planning how AI changes a company's software delivery process.
Engineering-practice depth applied to AI strategy, with its tool opinions published in the Technology Radar. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector, Technology, Energy.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.
The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter | Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap |
| You already run AI that is missing its targets | Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review |
| Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed | Neither lists governance work; add a specialist |
| AI will change roles and processes for many staff | Neither; plan change management separately |
| You want the strategy firm to build the result too | Both can deliver after the strategy |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Thoughtworks (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team across many countries | Thoughtworks |
Use case fit: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Use case | Thoughtworks fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Planning how AI changes a company's software delivery process. | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Data strategy for organizations whose data is the main obstacle to AI. | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
Thoughtworks (4.1/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Engineering-practice depth applied to AI strategy, with its tool opinions published in the Technology Radar.
RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is Thoughtworks better than RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks (4.1/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Thoughtworks's strongest advantage: engineering standards are high, and its views on tools are public in the Technology Radar. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.
How do Thoughtworks and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
Thoughtworks's pricing: time & materials and fixed-scope work; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Thoughtworks or RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Thoughtworks and RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks's primary differentiator is: engineering-practice depth applied to AI strategy, with its tool opinions published in the Technology Radar. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (10,000 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Retail vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.