Slalom vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Slalom (4.1/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. Slalom is the better choice for north American firms wanting local, on-site AI consultants. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.
Slalom vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Slalom | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2001 | 2010 |
| HQ | Seattle, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 10,000+ | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.1 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Local-office model that puts strategy consultants on-site, with deep cloud partnerships behind them | The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Time & materials and fixed-fee projects; rates not published | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | AWS, Azure, Google Cloud | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Financial services, Healthcare, Retail, Manufacturing, Public sector, Technology | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
Slalom vs RTS Labs: overview
Slalom
Slalom was founded in Seattle in 2001 and has more than 10,000 employees in over 50 offices across the Americas, Europe, and Asia. In August 2026 it hired a former Accenture executive as its chief AI officer. Its AI strategy practice covers operating models, governance, and data strategy, delivered by local teams who work on-site with clients. Partnerships with Microsoft, AWS, Google Cloud, Snowflake, and Salesforce mean a Slalom roadmap usually lands on one of those platforms.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.
Services and capabilities: Slalom vs RTS Labs
| Capability | Slalom | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✗ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✗ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✓ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✓ |
| Audit of live AI programs | ✗ | ✗ |
| Change management | ✓ | ✗ |
| Can build what it recommends | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: Slalom vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | Slalom | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | N/A | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | ✓ | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Snowflake | ✓ | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: Slalom vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | Slalom | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Strategy & roadmap engagement, Delivery team, Ongoing advisory | Readiness assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: Slalom vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | Slalom | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Healthcare, Retail | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | AI and data strategy for a North American mid-size or large company., Governance and operating-model design for a first wave of AI projects. | Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. |
| Typical project type | Strategy & roadmap engagement | Readiness assessment |
Slalom vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| Slalom | |
|---|---|
| + | Consultants live in the client's city, which makes workshops and on-site discovery easy |
| + | Covers operating model and governance as well as technology |
| + | Strong standing with Microsoft, AWS, Google Cloud, and Snowflake |
| + | Can staff the build after the strategy without changing firms |
| - | Roadmaps tend to land on its partner platforms |
| - | New AI leadership (August 2026) means the practice direction is still settling |
| - | Less depth on EU regulation than European consultancies |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here |
| + | Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment |
| + | Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| - | Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope |
| - | US-only team with no European regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch |
Who should choose Slalom?
A typical fit: AI and data strategy for a North American mid-size or large company.
Local-office model that puts strategy consultants on-site, with deep cloud partnerships behind them. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Healthcare, Retail, Manufacturing, Public sector, Technology.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.
The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: Slalom vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter | Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap |
| You already run AI that is missing its targets | Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review |
| Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed | Slalom |
| AI will change roles and processes for many staff | Slalom |
| You want the strategy firm to build the result too | Both can deliver after the strategy |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Slalom (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team across many countries | Slalom |
Use case fit: Slalom vs RTS Labs
| Use case | Slalom fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI and data strategy for a North American mid-size or large company. | Strong | Limited | Slalom |
| Governance and operating-model design for a first wave of AI projects. | Strong | Limited | Slalom |
| Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: Slalom vs RTS Labs
Slalom (4.1/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Local-office model that puts strategy consultants on-site, with deep cloud partnerships behind them.
RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Slalom vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is Slalom better than RTS Labs?
Slalom (4.1/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Slalom's strongest advantage: consultants live in the client's city, which makes workshops and on-site discovery easy. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.
How do Slalom and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
Slalom's pricing: time & materials and fixed-fee projects; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Slalom or RTS Labs?
Slalom is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Slalom and RTS Labs?
Slalom's primary differentiator is: local-office model that puts strategy consultants on-site, with deep cloud partnerships behind them. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (10,000+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Healthcare vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.