Elder Research vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Elder Research (4.0/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. Elder Research is the better choice for US agencies and firms wanting seasoned data science advice. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.
Elder Research vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1995 | 2010 |
| HQ | Charlottesville, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 170+ | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.0 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Three decades of applied data science behind its feasibility calls on AI use cases | The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Project fees; rates not published | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | Python, R, AWS | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Government & defense, Healthcare, Financial services, Insurance, Energy & utilities | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
Elder Research vs RTS Labs: overview
Elder Research
Elder Research was founded in 1995 in Charlottesville, Virginia, by data mining author John Elder and has around 170 staff. ManTech, a Carlyle Group portfolio company, bought it in December 2025 to expand its data and AI practice. The firm combines AI strategy and roadmap work with hands-on data science and training, and it builds fraud, waste, and abuse analytics for government agencies. That history matters. When Elder Research says a model won't work on your data, it has usually seen the same problem before.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.
Services and capabilities: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Capability | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✓ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✓ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✗ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✓ |
| Audit of live AI programs | ✗ | ✗ |
| Change management | ✗ | ✗ |
| Can build what it recommends | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | N/A | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Snowflake | N/A | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Strategy & roadmap engagement, Readiness assessment, Delivery team | Readiness assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Government & defense, Healthcare, Financial services | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Feasibility checks on AI ideas before funding them., Fraud and improper-payment analytics for government programs. | Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. |
| Typical project type | Strategy & roadmap engagement | Readiness assessment |
Elder Research vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| Elder Research | |
|---|---|
| + | Thirty years of applied analytics make it good at saying which models will actually work on your data |
| + | Training courses for analysts and managers come from the same firm |
| + | Experience with fraud, waste, and abuse detection for public agencies |
| + | Readiness assessments are grounded in hands-on data work |
| - | Bought by ManTech in December 2025, so its focus may shift further toward government work |
| - | Little European presence or EU regulatory work |
| - | Generative AI strategy is a newer area next to its classic analytics |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here |
| + | Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment |
| + | Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| - | Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope |
| - | US-only team with no European regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch |
Who should choose Elder Research?
A typical fit: feasibility checks on AI ideas before funding them.
Three decades of applied data science behind its feasibility calls on AI use cases. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Government & defense, Healthcare, Financial services, Insurance, Energy & utilities.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.
The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter | Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap |
| You already run AI that is missing its targets | Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review |
| Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed | Neither lists governance work; add a specialist |
| AI will change roles and processes for many staff | Neither; plan change management separately |
| You want the strategy firm to build the result too | Both can deliver after the strategy |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Elder Research (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team across many countries | Elder Research |
Use case fit: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Use case | Elder Research fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feasibility checks on AI ideas before funding them. | Strong | Limited | Elder Research |
| Fraud and improper-payment analytics for government programs. | Strong | Limited | Elder Research |
| Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
Elder Research (4.0/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Three decades of applied data science behind its feasibility calls on AI use cases.
RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Elder Research vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is Elder Research better than RTS Labs?
Elder Research (4.0/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Elder Research's strongest advantage: thirty years of applied analytics make it good at saying which models will actually work on your data. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.
How do Elder Research and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
Elder Research's pricing: project fees; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Elder Research or RTS Labs?
Elder Research is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Elder Research and RTS Labs?
Elder Research's primary differentiator is: three decades of applied data science behind its feasibility calls on AI use cases. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (170+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Government & defense, Healthcare vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.