BCG X vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
BCG X (4.3/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. BCG X is the better choice for enterprises wanting prototypes built during strategy. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.
BCG X vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | BCG X | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2022 | 2010 |
| HQ | Boston, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 3,000+ | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.3 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it | The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Project fees per engagement; rates not published | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | AWS, Azure, Google Cloud | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Financial services, Consumer & retail, Industrial goods, Healthcare, Energy, Public sector | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
BCG X vs RTS Labs: overview
BCG X
BCG X launched in 2022, when Boston Consulting Group merged BCG Digital Ventures, BCG Gamma, and BCG Platinion into one unit. Job listings put it at 3,000+ technologists, data scientists, engineers, and designers in more than 80 cities (per company job postings; independently unverifiable). The difference from a pure strategy team is timing. Prototypes get built during planning, so a board can see a working version before it approves the full program. BCG's industry practices and change work back it up, and its fees match BCG's, which keeps most mid-market companies out.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.
Services and capabilities: BCG X vs RTS Labs
| Capability | BCG X | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✗ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✓ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✗ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✓ | ✓ |
| Audit of live AI programs | ✗ | ✗ |
| Change management | ✓ | ✗ |
| Can build what it recommends | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: BCG X vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | BCG X | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | N/A | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | ✓ | N/A |
| Databricks | N/A | N/A |
| Snowflake | N/A | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: BCG X vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | BCG X | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Strategy & roadmap engagement, Delivery team | Readiness assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: BCG X vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | BCG X | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Mid-market to enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Consumer & retail, Industrial goods | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Testing a new AI-driven product with a working prototype before board approval., Sector-specific AI value cases for a large bank, insurer, or industrial company. | Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. |
| Typical project type | Strategy & roadmap engagement | Readiness assessment |
BCG X vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| BCG X | |
|---|---|
| + | Prototypes come out of the strategy phase, so feasibility is tested before the budget is committed |
| + | Draws on BCG's industry practices for sector-specific value cases |
| + | Organization and change work is available from the wider firm |
| + | Designers work next to engineers, which matters when AI changes a customer-facing product |
| - | BCG-level fees keep it out of reach for most mid-market companies |
| - | Strategy and build are sold by the same firm, which can tilt the roadmap toward work BCG X will deliver |
| - | Formed by merging three units in 2022, so ask how strategy and engineering staff are combined on your project |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here |
| + | Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment |
| + | Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| - | Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope |
| - | US-only team with no European regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch |
Who should choose BCG X?
A typical fit: testing a new AI-driven product with a working prototype before board approval.
Builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Consumer & retail, Industrial goods, Healthcare, Energy, Public sector.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.
The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: BCG X vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter | Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap |
| You already run AI that is missing its targets | Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review |
| Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed | Neither lists governance work; add a specialist |
| AI will change roles and processes for many staff | BCG X |
| You want the strategy firm to build the result too | Both can deliver after the strategy |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: BCG X (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team across many countries | BCG X |
Use case fit: BCG X vs RTS Labs
| Use case | BCG X fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Testing a new AI-driven product with a working prototype before board approval. | Strong | Limited | BCG X |
| Sector-specific AI value cases for a large bank, insurer, or industrial company. | Strong | Limited | BCG X |
| Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: BCG X vs RTS Labs
BCG X (4.3/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it.
RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
BCG X vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is BCG X better than RTS Labs?
BCG X (4.3/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. BCG X's strongest advantage: prototypes come out of the strategy phase, so feasibility is tested before the budget is committed. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.
How do BCG X and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
BCG X's pricing: project fees per engagement; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: BCG X or RTS Labs?
BCG X is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between BCG X and RTS Labs?
BCG X's primary differentiator is: builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (3,000+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Consumer & retail vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.