Top AI Strategy Consultants

Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

Neurons Lab (4.2/5) edges ahead of Fusemachines (3.7/5) overall. Neurons Lab is the better choice for banks and insurers building AI on AWS. Fusemachines is the stronger option for firms that want AI strategy plus staff training. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.

Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines: head-to-head summary

Criterion Neurons Lab Fusemachines
Founded 2019 2013
HQ London, UK New York, USA
Team size 50–100 270–450
Rating 4.2 / 5 3.7 / 5
Primary differentiator Financial-services AI strategy from an AWS Machine Learning Competency partner that builds the prototypes AI strategy tied to its own training programs and lower-cost engineering centers
Pricing model Project fees; rates not published Project and team pricing; rates not published
Min. engagement $100,000+ (Clutch) Not disclosed
Primary tech stack AWS, Amazon Bedrock, Amazon SageMaker AWS, Azure, Python
Industries served Banking, Insurance, Wealth management, Fintech, Healthcare Financial services, Media, Retail, Education, Healthcare

Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines: overview

Neurons Lab

Neurons Lab was founded in London in 2019 and has roughly 50 to 100 staff, topped up by a wider network of contract engineers. It is an AWS Advanced Partner with the Machine Learning Competency and works mainly for banks, insurers, and wealth managers. Strategy here means AI discovery and roadmap work that hands straight into prototypes on AWS. Clutch lists a $100,000+ minimum project, high for a firm this size and a sign that it aims at established financial companies.

Fusemachines

Fusemachines was founded in New York in 2013 by Sameer Maskey and runs engineering centers in Nepal, with further offices in Canada and Latin America. It listed on Nasdaq under the ticker FUSE in October 2025 through a merger with a special purpose acquisition company (SPAC). Its offer combines AI strategy consulting, implementation, and AI education programs that train client staff and local talent. Headcount estimates range from about 270 to 450.

Services and capabilities: Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines

Capability Neurons Lab Fusemachines
Readiness assessment ✗ ✓
Use-case prioritization ✓ ✗
TCO / ROI modeling ✗ ✗
AI governance & EU AI Act ✓ ✗
Build vs. buy advice ✓ ✗
Audit of live AI programs ✗ ✗
Change management ✗ ✗
Can build what it recommends ✓ ✓

Frameworks and platforms: Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines

Framework / platform Neurons Lab Fusemachines
EU AI Act N/A N/A
GDPR N/A N/A
NIST AI RMF N/A N/A
AWS ✓ ✓
Azure N/A ✓
Google Cloud N/A N/A
Databricks N/A N/A
Snowflake N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines

Criterion Neurons Lab Fusemachines
Minimum engagement $100,000+ (Clutch) Not disclosed
Engagement models Strategy & roadmap engagement, Delivery team Strategy & roadmap engagement, Delivery team
Rate transparency Minimum disclosed Not public
Price tier Mid-market Mid-market

Target audience comparison: Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines

Dimension Neurons Lab Fusemachines
Best company size Startup to mid-market Startup to mid-market
Best industries Banking, Insurance, Wealth management Financial services, Media, Retail
Best use cases AI roadmaps for a bank or insurer that already runs on AWS., Generative AI assistants for wealth advisers and relationship managers. AI strategy combined with staff upskilling., Low-cost builds after a readiness assessment.
Typical project type Strategy & roadmap engagement Strategy & roadmap engagement

Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines: pros and cons

Neurons Lab
+ Focus on banks, insurers, and wealth managers means less time explaining regulated-industry basics
+ AWS Machine Learning Competency is checked by AWS, so the engineering claim has outside validation
+ Discovery work moves into a working prototype quickly
+ Senior people do most of the work on a team this small
- A small core team, so large multi-country programs would stretch it
- Closely tied to AWS, which matters if your data lives on Azure or Google Cloud
- A Clutch minimum of $100,000+ is steep for a first strategy engagement
Fusemachines
+ Training programs help client staff take over AI work
+ Engineering centers in Nepal keep delivery costs down
+ Covers readiness, strategy, and build
+ Public company, so its financials are filed openly
- Small-cap company that listed through a SPAC merger in 2025, so review its filings before a long engagement
- Strategy practice is small next to its training and delivery work
- Little regulatory or governance advice

Who should choose Neurons Lab?

A typical fit: AI roadmaps for a bank or insurer that already runs on AWS.

Financial-services AI strategy from an AWS Machine Learning Competency partner that builds the prototypes. Minimum engagement starts at $100,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Banking, Insurance, Wealth management, Fintech, Healthcare.

Who should choose Fusemachines?

A typical fit: AI strategy combined with staff upskilling.

AI strategy tied to its own training programs and lower-cost engineering centers. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Media, Retail, Education, Healthcare.

Decision matrix: Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines

Your situation Recommended choice
Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap
You already run AI that is missing its targets Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review
Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed Neurons Lab
AI will change roles and processes for many staff Neither; plan change management separately
You want the strategy firm to build the result too Both can deliver after the strategy
Your budget is at the lower end Compare: Neurons Lab ($100,000+ (Clutch)) vs Fusemachines (Not disclosed)
You need a large team across many countries Fusemachines

Use case fit: Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines

Use case Neurons Lab fit Fusemachines fit Winner
AI roadmaps for a bank or insurer that already runs on AWS. Strong Limited Neurons Lab
Generative AI assistants for wealth advisers and relationship managers. Strong Limited Neurons Lab
AI strategy combined with staff upskilling. Limited Strong Fusemachines
Low-cost builds after a readiness assessment. Limited Strong Fusemachines

Verdict: Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines

Neurons Lab (4.2/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Financial-services AI strategy from an AWS Machine Learning Competency partner that builds the prototypes.

Fusemachines (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need low-cost builds after a readiness assessment. If your situation matches that, Fusemachines is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

Neurons Lab vs Fusemachines FAQ

Is Neurons Lab better than Fusemachines?

Neurons Lab (4.2/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Neurons Lab's strongest advantage: focus on banks, insurers, and wealth managers means less time explaining regulated-industry basics. Fusemachines's strongest advantage: training programs help client staff take over AI work.

How do Neurons Lab and Fusemachines differ in pricing?

Neurons Lab's pricing: project fees; rates not published with a minimum engagement of $100,000+ (Clutch). Fusemachines's pricing: project and team pricing; rates not published. Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.

Which is better for enterprise: Neurons Lab or Fusemachines?

Fusemachines is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.

What are the main differences between Neurons Lab and Fusemachines?

Neurons Lab's primary differentiator is: financial-services AI strategy from an AWS Machine Learning Competency partner that builds the prototypes. Fusemachines's primary differentiator is: AI strategy tied to its own training programs and lower-cost engineering centers. They also differ in team size (50–100 vs 270–450), minimum engagement ($100,000+ (Clutch) vs Not disclosed), and primary industries served (Banking, Insurance vs Financial services, Media).

Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.